UAF Awards Seven Alumni at Reunion

Sep 22, 2014

The University of Alaska Fairbanks and the UAF Alumni Association will be holding an awards reception on Friday in Fairbanks.  One alumnus will be receiving the association’s most prestigious award.

Credit University of Alaska Fairbanks

The Distinguished Alumnus award was first granted in 1962.  Those that receive it are selected based on service on behalf of the quality and advancement of UAF.  This year, the winner is Frank Paskvan, a 1985 graduate of UAF’s College of Engineering and Mines. 

Paskvan is a third-generation Alaskan.  He worked for BP and ARCO for 26 years in Alaska and in Jakarta, Indonesia.  He’s worked on a variety of oil and gas fields.  Paskvan’s work in supporting college recruiting, research and development is what earned him the award.

Director of UAF development and interim director of alumni relations with UAF Emily Drygas says there are others that will be presented with awards in Fairbanks.

“There will be seven awards given, we have an alumni achievement awards, there’s community category, a university category and then a business in professional excellence category.  And then additionally we have the Cashen award and then the premier award is the Distinguished Alumnus award.  Five of those individuals will be with us, two will be absent.”

Drygas says the awards will be given at the UAF reunion.  Every fall UAF has a reunion weekend filled with events and activities. 

“We’re going to open up a time capsule that students had locked and sealed back in the 60’s.  And we’re going to open that when we welcome everyone at the Alumni lounge there at 9 o’clock on the 26th.  Then there are several tours we’re inviting alumnus and friends to be part of, ranging from behind the scenes at the museum to the Rasmuson library collection.  We have a hall of fame for athletes on Saturday, a blue and gold game on Saturday, and food trucks and all sorts of festivities with departments across campus with athletics and the Wood Center as well.”

Among those being awarded with honors this year include C. B. McNeil, Jeff Roach, John Power and Lynda Sather.