Community says there have been 16 emergency medevacs, including six by the US Coast Guard, over the past year.

Mayor Ruby's recommendation of Curt Armstrong was accepted with unanimous approval by Dillingham city council.

Mayor Alice Ruby hopes the council approves a new council member at the regular December meeting.

Halford, Hoffman to chair Walker transition

Nov 12, 2014
courtesy of the Walker campaign

Ana Hoffman and former State Senate President Rick Halford will guide the efforts as Walker anticipates being sworn in as Governor December 1st.

Following councilman Keggie Tubbs resignation, Mayor Ruby says she isn't sure how the council will vote Thursday.


Alaska has one of the smallest populations in the US.  With only 735,000 Alaska is the third least populated state. However, the votes being casted today may weigh heavier than imagined.  KDLG’s Thea Card has more.

It may seem backwards but a research group is reporting that the voters in states with the smaller populations actually have the most power.  Spokesperson for WalletHub, the research group that conducted the study, Jill Gonzales says the process was mathematical. 

After six head-to-head debates, incumbent Democrat Mark Begich and Republican challenger Dan Sullivan took a few minutes for solo interviews Friday.

A Run Down of the 2014 Election Ballot Measures

Oct 30, 2014

DILLINGHAM-- Tuesday is Election Day and there are three measures on this year’s ballot.  

Thea Card

Election Day is approaching and with that comes the final surge from politicians to earn your vote.  However, there are others out there that don’t care who you vote for—they just want you to vote.  

You may have seen her huddled up around a small card table with flyers and stickers, inside grocery stores with a friendly smile.  You’re on your way to pick up some eggs you keep forgetting and at the entrance you’re greeted by…

“Hi guys have you voted yet?”

Arctic Circle 2014

This weekend is the Arctic Circle 2014 conference in Iceland.  The annual event was created to increase the Arctic dialogue.  US Senator Lisa Murkowski will be attending with the new Arctic Representative from the US Admiral Robert Papp.  

Fiscal Challenges in Alaska

Oct 17, 2014
Alaska Common Ground

Several prominent economists, business leaders, and former state government leaders gathered in Anchorage earlier this month to discuss Alaska’s fiscal future. Among them was economist Gunnar Knapp who outlined the fiscal challenges facing the State of Alaska. KDLG’s Mike Mason listened in and filed this report.

U.S. Senator Mark Begich is in the midst of a campaign for reelection. The race is being closely watched as it could determine the balance of power in the U.S. Senate. On Tuesday Senator Begich answered questions on Alaska Public Media’s “Talk of Alaska” program. KDLG’s Mike Mason listened in and filed this report.


Last week the 9th US Circuit Court of Appeals struck down same-sex marriage bans in Nevada and Idaho.  Because of that ruling, US District Court Judge Timothy Burgess found that the same-sex marriage ban was a violation of both due process and equal protection under the 14th amendment.  

A vocal critic of the current administration of Alaska Governor Sean Parnell plans to introduce legislation next year to strengthen the Alaska Public Records Act. KDLG’s Mike Mason has the details.

Mark Begich Campaign

Deborah Bonito, wife of US Senator Mark Begich, was in Dillingham on Saturday to help with last minute registration for residents.

While Senator Begich runs for another term in office, his wife is not staying idle.  As the pair are on the campaign trail, they are also taking care of their son, Jacob.  To say that Deborah Bonito is busy during campaign season would be a serious understatement.  This summer alone she’s been to Angoon, Sitka, Metlakatla and Klawock.  Bonito says although she’s not running for office, she does have a role to play in the campaign.